Episode one in trying to not get hit by a car!

So, I am hoping I can make this last all my time here. Drivers here are crazy! I know that people say that about a lot of cities. But seriously! Last night when I was out for dinner 5 out of the 7 people there had been hit by a car! Five! That’s madness. And most as pedestrians! Ok, so people don’t wait for the lights and have almost no hesitation about stepping out onto a four lane highway but sheesshhh. Don’t worry mum I’ve got travel insurance…

It’s been a week now since I landed (where did the week go!?). I think I make a new list everyday of stuff I need to do. Bank account. Visa. Job. Flat. Navigating myself around. If only the government officials worked at even half of the speed that people drive here. I would probably be sorted by now. But I guess I just have to adapt. I have been told something different by every official I’ve asked here about my situation. Efficiency really isn’t high on the list of priorities here. Drinking 50 cups of tea a day? Definitely!

1

Off to look at more apartments! Once I find something suitably awesome I will invite you all over to visit! Someone needs to help me get through this list! Actually this too!

Leave a comment